Friday, November 24, 2017 - 5 Rabi' al-Awwal 1439

Subscribe to our mail list

Home » Fatwas » Medical Issues

I am an athlete, is it permissible for me to use protein powder to build my muscles?

I am into sports and would like to use protein powder to help me in building my muscles as I am interested in body building. Is using protein powder permissible?

Answer

The types of protein used in protein powders can be divided into two categories: animal source proteins and vegetable source proteins. Animal source proteins include milk protein derivatives like whey and casein, goat's milk and egg white protein. Vegetable source proteins include soy, rice, pea and hemp proteins.

Whey protein is one of the most common varieties of protein powders. It is produced during the process of cheesemaking, when milk is coagulated and the fluid changes from a liquid to a solid state. The solid state -- or curds -- is removed for cheese, and the liquid portion is dehydrated, pasteurized and dried into powders. These powders are processed through special filters or a chemical filtration process to purify and remove the remaining water.

Thus the protein powder has nothing to do with the meat of the animal as it is mainly derived from its milk. In this case, the question of the halal meat does not fit here. Even if it is proven that the meat of the animal is involved in the process of producing protein supplements, this meat is not consumed at its original form but rather turns during the process of production to other forms which has nothing to do with its original form.

Even if the protein powder is directly derived from meat and not milk, it is permissible to consume foods that contain substances derived from slaughtered animals allowed for human consumption. However, it is prohibited [haram] to consume foods that contain substances derived from pigs or unslaughtered animals unless the nature of these substances have transformed into another forms during industry or baking through chemical processing and the like. In this case, it becomes lawful [halal] for human consumption In conclusion, it is legally permissible to consume protein supplements and powder to obtain the necessary elements for your muscles during exercise

Related links
» What is the Difference between Homosexuality and Gender Identity Disorder?
» Using alcohol to reduce the effect of panic attacks instead of regular pills
» Incorrect DNA paternity test results
» Attempt to abort a fetus who died 70 days after delivery
» My husband can't have children. Is it allowed in Islam to seek fertilization with donor sperm?