Sunday, November 19, 2017 - 30 Safar 1439

Subscribe to our mail list

Home » Fatwas » Customs » Food & Drink

Is it permissible to eat rennet-made cheese?

The ingredients that go into the making some European types of cheeses include rennet. Rennet is derived from the stomach of calves and used in the making of cheese. Because the calves are not slaughtered in the Islamic manner, I would like to know whether it is permissible for Muslims to eat these cheeses.

Answer

Once the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) passed by a house and found a dead sheep near it. He suggested to its inhabitants that they should take the hide of that sheep and make use of it. They told him that the sheep had died through natural causes and as such was carrion. It is known that carrion is forbidden to eat. The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) told them that he did not mean that they could eat it and its death from natural causes does not preclude benefitting from its hide. This applies to other parts of any dead animal. As long as we are not using it for food, then we can make use of it.

Rennet is used in the making of cheese. When used, it becomes part of a chemical process that changes its substance. And once the cheese is made, it is not possible to separate the milk and other ingredients that went into its making. It is a rule in such situations that if a substance is used in a chemical process that transforms its nature altogether, it becomes permissible to consume. This means that there is nothing wrong in eating the cheese you mention as long as the rennet is not derived from pigs, but from calves or other animals which are lawful for a Muslim to eat.

Moreover, although Europeans do not slaughter their animals in the manner prescribed by Islamic law, the meat of their animals is permissible to eat because God the Almighty says that the food of people who follow the heavenly revealed religions is permissible for Muslims to eat. He did not set any conditions on the method of slaughter of their meat. What they accept as lawful in their religion is permissible for us to eat unless it is specifically forbidden in our religion, such as pork.
And God the Almighty knows best.
 

Related links
» Is it permissible for Muslims to eat Prasad shared by temple custodians in India?
» Thanking Allah by giving away meat instead of slaughtering, is it permissible?
» Eating new manufactured edible gold and silver, is it permissible?
» Eating meals offered in university dorms. Is it permissible?
» Unknown slaughtering methods for charity meat shipments