What is the ruling regarding eating products made out of gelatin?
Assalam ailkom wa rahmatullah wa baraktoh,
Please could you give me the legal verdict about eating gelatin, or products that contain gelatin have read a lot of this subject and I don't know what I should do. And can you eat gelatin from an animal that isn't halal slaughtered or pig gelatin?
In Islamic law, it is permissible to consume foods that contain substances derived from slaughtered animals allowed for human consumption. However, it is prohibited [haram] to consume foods that contain substances derived from pigs or unslaughtered animals unless the nature of these substances have transformed into another forms during industry or baking through chemical processing and the like. In this case, it becomes lawful [halal] for human consumption.