Is eating marshmallow made of gelat...

Egypt's Dar Al-Ifta

Is eating marshmallow made of gelatin lawful?


Is eating marshmallow made of gelatin lawful?


Marshmallow is a sugar candy that, in its modern form, typically consists of sugar, whipped to a spongy consistency, molded into small cylindrical pieces, and coated with corn starch.

As a foodstuff, gelatin is the basis for jellied desserts; used in the preservation of fruit and meat, and to make powdered milk, merinque, taffy, marshmallow, and fondant. Gelatin's industrial applications include medicine capsules, photographic plate coatings, and dying and tanning supplies.

Gelatin is a protein substance derived from collagen, a natural protein present in the tendons, ligaments, and tissues of mammals. It is produced by boiling the connective tissues, bones and skins of animals, usually cows and pigs. Gelatin's ability to form strong, transparent gels and flexible films that are easily digested, soluble in hot water, and capable of forming a positive binding action have made it a valuable commodity in food processing, pharmaceuticals, photography, and paper production.

It is permissible to consume foods that contain substances derived from slaughtered animals allowed for human consumption. However, it is prohibited [haram] to consume foods that contain substances derived from pigs or unslaughtered animals unless the nature of these substances have transformed into another forms during industry or baking through chemical processing and the like. In this case, it becomes lawful [halal] for human consumption.

In conclusion, it is legally permissible to consume marshmallows with its processed gelatin as it was transformed through manufacturing from its original nature to a new lawful substance.

Share this:

Related Fatwas